Raspberry Ketone with Green Coffee
What this is. Raspberry ketone paired with green coffee extract, both sold into weight management. The amounts and the evidence behind them are below.
The name leads with the raspberry ketone. The panel does not. A two-capsule serving is 475 mg of green coffee bean extract and 25 mg of raspberry ketone — so 95% of this formula is the green coffee, and the ingredient the product is named after is the other 5%.
What you are actually getting, per 2 capsules
- Green Coffee Bean Extract (chlorogenic acid content not stated) — 475 mg
- Raspberry Ketone — 25 mg
500 mg of named ingredients in total. 475 divided by 500 is 95%. The 25 mg of raspberry ketone is the headline and the smaller part of a very lopsided pair, and we would rather show you that division than let the product name do the talking.
Chlorogenic acid is the compound green coffee research is about, and the panel does not state how much of it is in the 475 mg. Extracts used in trials have typically been standardised to around 45% to 50% chlorogenic acids and the dose reported as chlorogenic acid rather than extract weight. Ours prints no figure at all.
Worth knowing before you buy
The raspberry ketone first. There is essentially no human evidence that raspberry ketone causes weight loss. The interest came from rodent and cell studies, and those used amounts which, scaled to a person, run to grams a day — orders of magnitude beyond the 25 mg in this serving. Even our 1,000 mg single-ingredient bottle is nowhere near that comparison. At 25 mg it is not a serious one.
The green coffee next. The best-known human trial was retracted by its own authors in 2014, and US regulators took action over the way its results had been marketed. Reviews since describe the remaining trials as small, short and at high risk of bias. And on top of that, we cannot tell you the chlorogenic acid content of our own extract, because the panel does not state it.
So this is not in our weight and metabolism collection. Neither ingredient has a stated, research-comparable dose here: one has essentially no human evidence at any dose, and the other has an unquantified active. We sell it, we print exactly what is in it, and we are not going to file it under an outcome it cannot stand behind.
How to take it
Two capsules a day with water. Sixty capsules in the bottle, so one serving a day is 30 days.
Other ingredients
The Supplement Facts panel supplied with this product does not list other ingredients, so the capsule shell is not stated. Gelatin shells are animal-derived and are not suitable for vegetarians or vegans; cellulose shells are. Because the panel is silent on which this is, we cannot tell you this product is suitable for vegetarians or vegans, and we are not going to guess. There is no allergen statement on the panel either. If either point decides the purchase for you, ask us before you order and we will read the bottle.
Cautions
Green coffee bean extract contains caffeine, and the panel does not state how much. Green coffee is unroasted, not decaffeinated, so treat this as an unknown amount of caffeine on top of whatever you already drink: it can disturb sleep and can add to the effect of stimulant medicines. Chlorogenic acids may also affect blood sugar and blood pressure, so speak to your doctor or pharmacist first if you take medication for either. Keep out of the reach of children. Do not use if the safety seal is damaged or missing. Store in a cool, dry place. Do not exceed the recommended dose. If you are pregnant, nursing, under 18, taking prescription medication or living with a medical condition, speak to your doctor or pharmacist before starting this or any supplement.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.