Fruits & Veggies
What this is. A concentrated fruit and vegetable powder in capsule form. Taken by people whose actual diet is short on produce. It is a supplement to food, not a replacement for it.
600 mg of fruit and vegetable powders per two-capsule serving, split across ten ingredients in a proprietary blend. Six tenths of a gram is a supplement. It is not a serving of produce, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.
What you are actually getting, per 2 capsules
- Fruit & Vegetable Blend (proprietary blend) — 600 mg total
- Apple Fiber — amount not disclosed
- Carrot — amount not disclosed
- Beet Root — amount not disclosed
- Blueberry — amount not disclosed
- Garlic — amount not disclosed
- Ginger — amount not disclosed
- Raspberry — amount not disclosed
- Red Bell Pepper — amount not disclosed
- Strawberry Juice — amount not disclosed
- Tomato Extract — amount not disclosed
It is a proprietary blend, so the 600 mg is the only figure the panel gives. Ten ingredients sharing 600 mg would be 60 mg each if they were split evenly, and there is no reason at all to assume they are — blends are usually ordered by weight, with the first ingredient doing most of the work and the last few present in token amounts. The panel does not disclose the individual amounts, so neither can we.
Nothing in the blend is standardised. There is no allicin figure for the garlic, no gingerol figure for the ginger, no extract ratio for the tomato extract, and no anthocyanin figure for the berries. Those are the numbers that would let you compare this to anything, and none of them is on the panel.
Worth knowing before you buy
This is the honest core of it: 600 mg is 0.6 of a gram. A portion of fruit or vegetables is measured in tens or hundreds of grams. Two capsules are not a replacement for eating them, they are a small supplementary amount of dried plant powder, and no amount of front-panel design changes that arithmetic.
What it is: ten recognisable food-derived powders in a capsule, at a low price, for someone who wants them in their routine. What it is not: a greens drink, a standardised extract, or a substitute for produce. If you want a meaningful dose of any single one of these ingredients, buy that ingredient on its own where the amount is printed.
Worth saying out loud: the capsule around this fruit and vegetable powder is gelatin, which is animal-derived. That will strike some buyers as an odd combination, and they should be able to find it out from the page rather than from the bottle.
How to take it
Two capsules a day with water. Sixty capsules in the bottle at two a day, which is 30 days.
Other ingredients
Gelatin. The capsules are gelatin, which is animal-derived, so this is not suitable for vegetarians or vegans despite being a fruit and vegetable product. The panel does not state the animal source of the gelatin. It declares no allergens.
Cautions
Garlic and ginger can both affect blood clotting and are documented as interacting with warfarin and antiplatelet medicines such as clopidogrel and aspirin. The amounts here are small and are not disclosed individually, but if you take any of those medicines, or you have surgery coming up, mention this to your doctor. If you are allergic to any of the ten foods listed above, do not take this. Keep out of the reach of children. Do not use if the safety seal is damaged or missing. Store in a cool, dry place. Do not exceed the recommended dose. If you are pregnant, nursing, under 18, taking prescription medication or living with a medical condition, speak to your doctor or pharmacist before starting this or any supplement.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.